Welcome to our web store


Air in Motion


Described by the New Yorker as an “acknowledged chamber-music master”, Pierre Jalbert returns to Orchid with an album of world-premiere recordings that celebrate his long relationship with the outstanding Escher Quartet, as well as paying tribute to flautist Carol Wincenc during her 50th anniversary season.

* Only shipping to UK addresses at this time



Though the string ensemble is the common thread in all of these recorded works, their inspiration and ideas are quite varied. In String Quartet No.4, dynamic shapes and configurations – spiral, waveform, labyrinth – are the catalysts for each movement, whereas String Quartet No.6 (“Canticle”) invokes the idea of ritual – coloured by the use of small, bell-like disks called crotales.

Air in Motion brings flautist Carol Wincenc into the ensemble, adding a new dimension suggested by the flow of air through a column of metal.

Jalbert’s first album for Orchid, String Theory, was praised by BBC Music Magazine: “There’s a thrilling freneticism to Jalbert’s music and it’s a vein which runs through most of these premiere recordings”.

Track List

Pierre Jalbert (b.1967)

String Quartet No.4
1 I Spiral I
2 II Waveform
3 III Labyrinth
4 IV Spiral II

Air in Motion
5 I Turning
6 II Canon on 50 notes
7 III Air
8 IV Pushing the Envelope

String Quartet No.6 (“Canticle”)
9 I Eternal, timeless
10 II Intense, dramatic
11 III Scherzando
12 IV Ethereal
13 V Driving
14 VI Still
15 VII Soulful, mysterious

Escher String Quartet:
Adam Barnett-Hart, violin
Brendan Speltz, violin
Pierre Lapointe, viola
Brook Speltz, cello
Carol Wincenc, flute


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Air in Motion”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *